The Coffee Shop Hop

Wow! I simply cannot believe that I have been home for two months now. The time sure does fly by quickly. Since my last post I have been trying to be more of a “doer” and less of a watcher. The easiest way for me to be this doer type was to look to the things that inspired me in life. Now, anyone who knows me knows that I have quite the obsession with coffee, and now that I have been working at my local Starbucks for about a month I have become even more of a “coffee connoisseur.”

With that in mind, I decided that one way for me to get to know the city that is just 20 minutes away from my house was to spend more time there. The best way I knew to do this was look at all the attractions it offered. With one google search I noticed the numerous coffee shops in and surround Grand Rapids. It was then that I got the idea to try as many of these coffee shops as I possibly could this summer.

After buying a cheap journal, writing a list of coffee shops on the west side of the state, and telling my closest friends about my idea, I was ready to go. Since creating this journal I have been to a handful of the coffee shops on my list and I still have so many left. At each coffee shop I give the journal to the friend that accompanies me (I’ve yet to go alone yet) and they fill out an entry describing what they like or dislike about the visit.

So far, I’ve had a ton of fun going on these mini adventures that are within driving distance from my house. This has been a good way to stregthen some relationships with old friends and new ones, as well as giving me a space to work on homework for my summer classes. In reality, I know that I won’t be able to finish my list, but the idea of trying new places and different kinds of coffee is so fun.

If you want to be a doer for the rest of your summer, look to your favorite things for inspiration. Below are some pictures of or at the coffee shops that I’ve tried. Here’s to a summer filled with good coffee and better friends!

Sincerely,

Krystal, With a K

**Disclaimer: I have seen other people do this in my area, so when I thought of the idea I did look back to some of the places they went**

 

Leave a Reply

