Sweet Summertime

The trees are full, the sun is out, and the bees are buzzing. The air is warm, the flowers are blooming, and everyone seems to have an extra “pep in their step”. It’s summer!

This seems to be the time of the year that everyone dreams of. Warm nights spent by the lake, the nightly routine of roasting marshmellows over campfires, weekend festivals, concerts, and so much more. As we say hello to the summer sun there is so much to do, for instance, hanging out with friends, cleaning up the yard, attending graduation parties, and working that dreaded summer job to pay for school.

With all the crazy excitement of seeing the friends I’ve missed, making money once again, trying to regain my summer “glow”, and soon start my summer classes it can feel like I have no time for anything and that I can slowly see my summer passing before my eyes. Now, I know what you may be thinking: “Krystal, you’ve had extra time off becasue you’ve been out of school for almost a month and what do you do anyway??.” Well, let me tell you that summer isn’t all fun and games anymore, and I am sure that every adult to read this would laugh and say “Welcome to the rest of your life!”

As of now I have been working two jobs, cleaning my aunt’s house along with random babysitting on the side, and trying to hangout with my family and friends as often as I can. I won’t lie and say that I haven’t been overwhelmed, because I have. With two jobs that don’t give me a consistent schedule (which is not their faults), friends who also work and have their own lives, and family who seem to hangout whenever you work, my life can sometimes seem like it is all over the place.

All these thoughts have been constantly running through my mind this past week, so I have completely decided to take my life day by day. This doesn’t mean that I don’t look to the future because this girl needs to have some things planned out; it’s just who I am. I decided that each full day off from work I will try to catch up with a friend or my family or maybe I will hide out and watch Netflix all day. My life is way to short to drown in something that doesn’t make me even the slightest bit happy and a teeny bit sane. I’ve also decided to try new things, places, and adventures to enjoy the free time that I do have this summer.

Even when life can seem like an endless, repetative movie where you seem to work the same job every day, for me, it is important to make the most of it all. You never know when your last day will come, and although that seems super morbid, we often see too many who leave us unexpectedly. So, let’s make the most of every “bad” day, every great day, and all the in betweens. Don’t be afraid to drop something or someone who doens’t make or bring you a little bit of happiness each day, and don’t be afraid to be utterly and completely yourself. Do something for yourself and someone else every day. Overall, just find your happy and follow it.

Here’s to a summer full of love, happiness, adventure, and the people who help you achieve all three!

“Nights when we kept dancing, changing all our plans, and making every day a holiday” -Onerepublic

Sincerely,

Krystal, with a K

Leave a Reply

