Goodbyes Suck

Saturday, August 20th will mark a major day in my life; college move-in day. Where did senior year go? What happened to summer? I never expected everything to be done quicker than it started. Although I know that I have so much to look forward to, as my parents and I shove as much of my life as we can fit into a dorm room with someone else, it is all very bittersweet. I never thought about what this day might actually be like. Originally this was just another date on the calendar, something I didn’t put much heart into because it wasn’t happening yet or I would say “we’ll deal with it when it comes”. Well, now it is here. As the last couple of weeks have come it has hit me faster and harder that I will be gone and people’s lives will go on whether I am by their sides or not. That sounds so harsh and sad but it is what has motivated me to spend time with the ones I love as long as I can. Seeing the title of this entry you already know where I am going with the rest this. You can’t hangout with friends without leaving. Every gathering comes with a really hard goodbye. Every hug brings uncertainty of the next time you will see one another. It becomes really hard to even hangout with people because you don’t want to leave them. I am here to say that I have always hated saying my goodbyes, yet I get through them anyway. What I have learned is that it is okay to be sad and it is okay to cry. It is okay to miss your parents and its okay to miss your friends. I’ve come to the conclusion that you need to tell everyone how you feel about them and you can’t let words go unsaid. If you love someone then tell them. Life is too fragile to not tell people how you really feel. So, hangout with your family, sing your favorite songs at the top of your lungs with your best friends, and cry even when you’re happy with others because it will be gone before you know it. In the end, I will most likely have a tantrum more embarrassing than the 3 year-old at the grocery store when I leave my favorite people, but I don’t mind. Life is just too short to care what everyone around you thinks, and I care too much about the ones I love to not  make a scene.

–Krystal, with a K

Here are a few pictures with some of the hardest goodbyes (excluding my family).

Leave a Reply

