Five Reasons to Wake up Earlier

After taking my dad to the airport at 5am I realized there was no hope for me going back to sleep. Being the daughter of two early risers I should have suspected that this would happen. I got it in my head that the day was ready to be started, so I took a drive to a nearby town with a great path, laced up my running shoes, and went for a run. Mind you, I finished that and getting  a coffee all before 7:30am. While the rest of the town seemed to be sleeping I came up with a list of reasons why I am glad to be one of the few early risers of this generation.

1. You can accomplish more

Think about something for a moment: how much “stuff” do you usually have to do during your day? This stuff could include mini goals like finishing a book you wanted to read or bigger things like working out. Even if you woke up an hour earlier to start your day you could fit in that workout before getting ready for work or maybe pick up some things from your grocery store that you otherwise wouldn’t have time to.

2. You can see things others never will

When I wake up early I usually try to talk myself into going for a run or a walk. There is something about the serenity of the morning that has always called my name, and it is so easy for me to work out my thoughts when I get myself outside. Waking up before most of your neighbors could lead to seeing the sunrise with a cup of coffee, or if you’re like me, the sunrise while you think that you’re dying from that little ounce of excercise.

3. You can do things others can’t

Like have longer, more productive days, duhI! When you wake up earlier you have a little bit more time to do the things you want to do as well as the things you need to do. That’s what I call a win, win, and most people don’t have those kind of days anymore.

4. You can spend time get yourself

If you’re waking up before everyone else you don’t have to start your morning right away with people. How are you supposed to grow as a person if you never spend time getting to know what you like, what you are passionate about, or anything like that. If you find little time for yourself during the day and want nothing more than to sleep after your day then waking up even 30 minutes earlier to do more of what you love can benefit your daily life greatly.

5. You can become more observant

When you are the only one awake in your house, outside, at the gym or wherever else you are at in the morning, it’s much easier to notice things. For instance, if you’re out for a run you can hear the birds of the morning or hear a creek runnning through a neighbors yeard that you never noticed.

 

I am not going to lie, waking up early can suck and make you tired more quickly once the late afternoon rolls around, but there is still something about how accomplished I feel by 10am when half of my “to-do” list is done. It isn’t like I will wake up everyday at 5am; I like sleep. All that I am saying is that with even just 30 extra minutes you can have a better day. The morning is so serene and I think that more people should make time to experience it.

–Krystal, with a K

Leave a Reply

